APPROVED

Iowa State University FACULTY SENATE Session XIII, Meeting 8 MINUTES March 6, 2001

- 1. Attendance:
- a) Members Present: D. Anderson; R. Angelici; D. Ashlock; C. Baldwin; D. Bullen; E. Cooper; B. Coree; J. Cunnally; M.L. Damhorst; J. Dana; R. Dearin; M. Doran; M. Duffy; T. Emmerson; D. Fowles; W. Franke; R. Hall; A. Hendrickson; G. Hightshoe; J. Hill; P. Hoffman; P. Holden; D. Hopper; S. Huang; J. Hutter; J. Iles; G. Jura; P. Korsching; J. Lamont; D. Lewis; B. Mack; P. Martin; C. Miller; G. Miller; Y. Niyo; F. Nutter; J. Opsomer; M. Owen; G. Palermo; G. Phye; C. Pope; M. Porter; G. Rajagopalan; B. Robinson; J. Robyt; S. Russell; C. Schilling; K. Schilling; D. Simonson; B. Summers; B. Thacker; S. Tim; D. Ulrichson; B. Wagner; C. Walter; W. Ware; W. Woodman; M. Wortman.
- b) Substitute Members: C. Heising for T. Barta; M. Torrie for P. Dail; E. Cooper for D. Epperson; W. Grundmann for H. Hohmann; J. Courteau for M. Mattson; W. Lee for J. Pine; M. Holmgren for W. Sanford.
- c) Absent Members: S. Agarwal; D. Catron; M. Chen; G. Colver; N. Davis; A. Dispirto;
 W. Dolphin; M. Dyrenfurth; C. Ford; J. Gilley; J. Girton; G. Koppenhaver; G. Kunz; G. Leavens; J. Maves; D. McCarthy; C. Mize; S. Rodermel; C. Thoen; T. Weber; M. Yaeger; B. Yang.
- d) Guests and Visitors: R. Richmond, Provost Office; L. Charles, University Relations; L. Allen, Ames Tribune; L. Kennedy, ISU Daily; K. Dixon, P&S Council; G. Sriram, GSS; T. Wheelock, Task Force on Non-Tenure Track Faculty Member; K. Kruempel, Curriculum Committee.
- 2. The eighth regular meeting of the academic year was called to order at 7:35 PM on March 6, 2001, in room 230 of the Scheman Auditorium by the Faculty Senate President, David Hopper, who introduced substitute senators.
- 3. Max Wortman moved approval of the consent agenda. The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.
- 4. Senate President Announcement: David Hopper said the Task Force on the Faculty Conduct Policy met on March 2, 2001, and the Task Force is planning two more meetings before a policy is put before the Senate.
- 5. President-Elect announcement: Christie Pope said the Spring Faculty Conference would be held on March 30 31 in Pella, Iowa.
- 6. Provost Rollin Richmond reported how the funds in the academic plan pool are being allocated.
- 7. Elections were conducted for five Council Chairs and the Senate Secretary. Each candidate ran unopposed. No additional nominations were offered from the floor of the Senate. Joanna Courteau moved to close the nominations. This motion was seconded and unanimously approved. The following candidates were elected by unanimous acclamation: William Woodman, Chair of the Council on Resource

Allocations and Policy; Anthony Hendrickson, Chair of the Academic Affairs Council; Gregory Palermo, Chair of the Council on Faculty Development and Administrative Relations; Dorothy Fowles, Chair of the Council on Judiciary and Appeals; Christopher Schilling, Faculty Senate Secretary.

- 8. Old Business
- a) [S00-27] On behalf of the Council on Faculty Development and Administrative Relations, Ganesh Rajagopalan presented the Honors and Awards Task Force Report (<u>http://www.facsen.iastate.edu/documents/awards/report.html</u>). The Task Force moved approval of the recommendations in the report pending the following amendments:
 - I. It is proposed that recommendations for the formation of a Distinguished and University Professor Nomination Committee be modified as such: (a) by forming separate nomination committees for Distinguished Professors and University Professors, (b) by requiring that all members of these Nomination Committees hold the rank of Professor, and (c) by removing the authorization to transfer from one award category (Distinguished Professor or University Professor) to the next.
 - II. It is proposed that the requirement of five years of service before becoming eligible for nomination to Distinguished Professor be deleted.
 - III. It is proposed that the Provost's Office (a) review the processes by which nominations are made by colleges and (b) recommend to the Senate how these processes should occur and be made more uniform.

The question was divided. Item I (a) above passed by a voice vote. Item I (b) subsequently passed by a voice vote. Item I(c) above subsequently passed by a voice vote. Item II above was subsequently defeated by a voice vote. Item III above subsequently passed by a voice vote. Max Wortman moved approval of all other recommendations that are not addressed above and that are in the Task Force report. The motion was seconded and carried by voice vote.

Ganesh Rajagopalan discussed recommendation eight from the Task Force Report. He moved that this recommendation be modified to read as follows: "The Distinguished Professor Nomination Committee will receive nominations, discuss them in one or more meetings as the committee deems appropriate, and make recommendations for final action to the Provost. The University Professor Nomination Committee will receive nominations, discuss them in one or more meetings as the committee deems appropriate, and forward its recommendations to the Executive Board of the Faculty Senate, which will meet in executive session to consider these recommendations. Those recommendations approved are then to be forwarded to the Provost for action." The motion was seconded and carried by a voice vote.

b) Report of the Task Force on Continuing Nontenure-Track Appointments [S00-30] (http://www.facsen.iastate.edu/documents/Non-TenureTrackTaskForce-

<u>FinalReport.pdf</u>). Jim Hutter moved to strike item three of the Task-Force Report. Item three recommends setting the following limits on the number of nontenure-track appointments: 15% in any department or unit and 5% of any college and of the university. The motion was seconded and carried by a vote of 40 to 18 with zero abstentions. It was moved to postpone further consideration of the task force report until the April 10, 2001 meeting of the Faculty Senate. The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

- 9. The following items of New Business were presented:
- a) [S00-31] ISU Comm Principles Report
- b) [S00-32] MA in English as Second Language / Applied Linguistics
- c) [S00-33] MS and PhD in Foodservice and Lodging Management
- d) [S00-34] Kellogg Commission Report
- 10. The meeting adjourned at 9:22 PM.

Respectfully Submitted

Christopher Schilling Faculty Senate Secretary