Iowa State University FACULTY SENATE Session XV, Meeting 5 MINUTES January 14, 2003

I. Call to Order

The meeting at the Gateway Center, North Room was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Faculty Senate President Max Wortman.

II. Special Order -- Mr. Bruce Van de Velde, ISU Athletic Director

Bruce Van de Velde, ISU Athletic Director, addressed the Faculty Senate. He gave a slide presentation that showed how the Athletic Department received its money and where the money is spent. He also gave an overview of the academic progress of the athletes. Several questions were asked following his slide presentation.

III. Introduction of Substitute Members

Attendance:

Present: S. Agarwal; M. Al-Kaisi; D. Anderson; I. Anderson; C. Baldwin; D. Carter-Lewis; T. Chacko; E. Cooper; J. Cunnally; F. Dark; C. Drewes; A.M. Fiore; C. Ford; S. Freeman; C. Fritz; S. Gilmore; J. Girton; R. Gregorac; B. Hand; C. Heising; J. Herwig; G. Hightshoe; P. Hoffman; M. Holland; W. Huffman; H. Ilahiane; K. Jolls; D. Jones; P. Korsching; R. Kottman; A. Kyber; J. Lamont; G. Leavens; R. Lowry; S. Madon; P. Martin; J. Maves; M. Mook; M. Olsen; G. Phye; C. Pope; C. Post; J. Raich; G. Rajagopalan; B. Robinson; J. Robyt; S. Russell; K. Schilling; J. Schuh; L. Stephens; W. Tavanapong; J. Thompson; S. Tim; W. Trahanovsky; D. Vrchota; B. Woodman; M. Wortman; T. Zanish-Belcher.

Absent: D. Bazylinski; D. Bullen; M. Chen; B. Coree; C. Fehr; G. Mattson; B. Mennecke; C. Mize; D. Morrical; A. Murdoch; M. Owen; P. Premkumar; C. Thoen; J. Tollefson; H. vanLeeuwen; P. Wray; B. Yang.

Substitutes: V. Dark for S. Madon; Y. Yang for J. Opsomer; M. Laycock for D. Simonson; J. Duffy for D. Smith; K. Kline for E. Thacker.

Guests: D. Hopper, Chair Non-Tenure-Track Transition Task Force; S. Carlson, Provost Office; R. Heer, P&S Council; B. Allen, Provost; M. Porter, Parliamentarian.

IV. Consent Items

Motion to pass the following consent items was approved.

- A. Agenda for January 14, 2003 [S02/A/5]
- B. Minutes of Faculty Senate meeting on December 10, 2002 [S02/M/4]
- C. Minutes of Faculty Senate Executive Board, December 3, 2002
- D. Calendar [S02/C/5]
- E. College of Design Academic Progress Regulations [S02-22]

V. Announcements and Remarks

A. Faculty Senate President

President Wortman thanked all the senators who attended the holiday party at the Knoll. He also thanked Ken Jolls for providing the music.

B. President-Elect

No announcements.

C. Provost

As the new ISU Provost, Dr. Allen said he was looking forward to working with the Senate. He stated that his priorities were still the same as ones he discussed with the senate when he took over as Interim Provost. The priorities are: retain top faculty; encourage a climate that is inviting to diverse faculty; and have an efficient and effective Provost Office.

VI. Election of President-Elect, 2003-2004

Sanjeev Agarwal, College of Business, was elected president-elect for 2003-2004.

VII. Old Business

None

VIII. New Business

A. Policies and Procedures for Annual Review, Reappointment and Advancement of Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Senate Office

David Hopper, Chair of the Non-Tenure-Track Transition Task Force was present to answer questions about the report and recommendations that were sent to the Provost Office.

The following issues were expressed by the senators:

1. Concern was expressed regarding the caps (15% for the university and 25% for individual departments) on the number of NTT research appointments.

- 2. Concern was expressed that the language in the original S00-30 document regarding the renewability of NTT appointments was unclear.
- 3. Concern was expressed about the accuracy of EASE forms, and the need to revise them if they are to be used as the basis for determining the faculty effort in teaching, research and professional practice.
- 4. A request was made for a document showing the changes to the current Faculty Handbook which would result from the proposed NTT policy.