Iowa State University FACULTY SENATE Session XV, Meeting 7 MINUTES March 11, 2003

I. Call to Order

The meeting at the Gateway Center, Garden Room was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Faculty Senate President Max Wortman.

II. Introduction of Substitute Members

Attendance:

Present: S. Agarwal; M. Al-Kaisi; D. Anderson; C. Baldwin; D. Bullen; D. Carter-Lewis; T. Chacko; E. Cooper; J. Cunnally; F. Dark; A.M. Fiore; C. Ford; S. Freeman; C. Fritz; S. Gilmore; J. Girton; R. Gregorac; B. Hand; C. Heising; J. Herwig; P. Hoffman; W. Huffman; K. Jolls; P. Korsching; R. Kottman; A. Kyber; G. Leavens; R. Lowry; S. Madon; P. Martin; J. Maves; B. Mennecke; D. Morrical; A. Murdoch; M. Olsen; M Owen; G. Phye; C. Pope; C. Post; P. Premkumar; J. Raich; G. Rajagopalan; B. Robinson; J. Robyt; K. Schilling; D. Simonson; L. Stephens; W. Tavanapong; J. Thompson; S. Tim; J. Tollefson; H. van Leuween; D. Vrchota; W. Woodman; M. Wortman; B. Yang; T. Zanish-Belcher.

Absent: I. Anderson; D. Bazylinski; M. Chen; C. Drewes; C. Fehr; G. Hightshoe; M. Holland; H. Ilahiane; D. Jones; C. martin; G. Mattson; C. Mize; J. Schuh; C. Thoen.

Substitutes: R.C. Woods for J. Lamont; N. Kottman for M. Mook; K. Kruempel for S. Russell; J. Duffy for D. Smith; R. Rosenbusch for M. Holland; S. Crase for A. Thieman; K. Schmidt-Rohr for W. Trahanovsky.

Guests: K. Kane, P&S Council; B. Allen, Provost; S. Carlson, Provost Office; M. Porter, Parliamentarian; H. Shapiro, Vice Provost.

III. Consent Items

Motion to pass the following consent items was approved.

- A. Agenda for March 4, 2003 [S02/A/7]
- B. Minutes for Faculty Senate Executive Committee, January 7 and February 4, 2003
- C. Minutes for Faculty Senate Meeting on February 11, 2003 [S02/M/6]
- D. Calendar [S02/C/7]
- E. Proposal for a New MA Degree in Rhetoric, Composition, and Professional Communication (RCPC) [S02-24]

IV. Announcements and Remarks

A. President - Faculty Senate

President Wortman announced the Faculty Senate Executive Board will be having lunch with the Board of Regents on Wednesday, March 12.

President Wortman asked senators to nominate anyone they felt had done outstanding work for the senate this year for the Faculty Senate Award.

B. President-Elect, Faculty Senate

President-Elect Girton reminded everyone to submit their application for the Spring Faculty Conference.

C. Provost

Provost Allen praised David Hopper and Susan Carlson for their work on the Nontenure Track Policy.

V. Election of Officers

The following senators were elected as officers for 2003-2004 Faculty Senate:

Tanya Zanish-Belcher, Secretary Denise Vrchota, Governance Council Chair William Woodman, Resource Policies and Allocations Council Chair Clark Ford, Judiciary and Appeals Chair

VI. Old Business

A. ISU/Comm Report/Proposal - [S02-25]

The following motion to continue with ISUComm was approved by the Faculty Senate:

Motion 1: The Foundation Courses

ISUComm will pilot sections of the new foundation courses which

- integrate instruction in written, oral, visual, and electronic communication
 - simulate a two-year sequence
 - explore unified themes of civic and cultural significance
 - enhance the emphasis on active learning and critical thinking
 - experiment with an online portfolio as an aid in assessing learning outcomes.

Motion 2: Communication Instruction in the Major

ISUComm will collaborate with individual departments in a joint effort to

- facilitate effective communication instruction in the major, and
- develop feasible assessment strategies to monitor student learning.

Motion 3: Communication Assessment

ISUComm will devise and deliver a preliminary assessment of student learning outcomes in the new foundation courses and collaborate with departments engaging consultants to evaluate their joint efforts at curricular review.

Motion 4: Assessment Report

The Steering Committee will return to the Faculty Senate in Fall 2004 to report on the results of its assessment efforts, at which point the Senate may deliberate future developments of the ISUComm initiative.

APPROVED

VII. New Business

A. Final Examination Policy Pertaining to a Need to Reschedule an Exam - [S02-26]

Sanjeev Agarwal, Chair of the Academic Affairs Council presented docket item S02-26 for vote at the March 25 meeting.

B. Final Examination Policy Pertaining to "Special Group Exams" - [S02-27]

Sanjeev Agarwal, Chair of the Academic Affairs Council presented docket item S02-27 for vote at the March 25 meeting.

C. Appeals Process, Governance Council - [S02-28]

Denise Vrchota, Chair of the Governance Council presented docket item S02-28 for vote at the March 25 meeting.

Denise Vrchota also presented the following motion:

The Faculty Senate bylaws will temporarily be suspended to allow recently elected atlarge senators who have previously served in the Faculty Senate to be contacted before the next meeting to ascertain their willingness to run for vacant Faculty Senate elected offices.

The motion passed by a 2/3's vote.

D. University Policy Toward United Way (Resolution) - [S02-29]

Bill Robinson, LAS Caucus Chair, represented docket item S02-29 for vote at the March 25 meeting.

Frankee Oleson, Executive Directory of the Story County United, was present to give a short presentation about the United Way campaign at ISU and to answer questions.

The meeting adjourned at 9:11 p.m.