# Iowa State University FACULTY SENATE Session XV, Meeting 10 MINUTES May 6, 2003

### I. Call to Order

The meeting at the Gateway Center, North Room was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Faculty Senate President Max Wortman.

### **Attendance:**

**Present:** S. Agarwal; C. Baldwin; D. Bullen; T. Chacko; M. Chen; B. Coree; S. Crase; J. Cunnally; F. Dark; A.M. Fiore; C. Ford; S. Freeman; C. Fritz; S. Gilmore; J. Girton; R. Gregorac; B. Hand; C. Heising; J. Herwig; G. Hightshoe; P. Hoffman; W. Huffman; K. Jolls; P. Korsching; R. Kottman; J. Lamont; S. Larson; G. Leavens; R. Lowry; S. Madon; C. Martin; P. Martin; J. Maves; B. Mennecke; A. Mitra; A. Murdoch; F. Nutter; M. Olsen; M. Owen; G. Palermo; G. Phye; C. Pope; C. Post; P. Premkumar; J. Raich; B. Robinson; J. Robyt; R. Rosenbusch; D. Russell; S. Russell; J. Sawyer; K. Schilling; J. Schuh; D. Simonson; P. Spike; L. Stephens; S. Sundararajan; W. Tavanapong; E. Thacker; J. Thompson; J. Tollefson; D. Vrchota; J. Wong; W. Woodman; M. Wortman; B. Yang; T. Zanish-Belcher.

**Absent:** M. Al-Kaisi; D. Anderson; I. Anderson; D. Bazylinski; E. Cooper; C. Drewes; C. Fehr; M. Holland; H. Ilahiane; D. Jones; A. Kyber; G. Mattson; C. Mize; M. Mook; D. Morrical; J. Opsomer; G. Rajagopalan; C. Thoen; S. Tim; H. van Leeuwen; P. Wray.

**Substitutes:** E. Anderson for D. Carter-Lewis; J. Duffy for D. Smith; S. Crase for A. Thieman; K. Woo for W. Trahanovsky.

**Guests:** O. Newlin, President, Board of Regents; B. Allen, Provost; S. Carlson, Provost Office; M. Porter, Parliamentarian; G. Geoffroy, ISU President; K. Kane, P&S Council; K. Kruempel, Curriculum Committee; D. Finnemore, ISU Retiree's Committee.

# II. Special Orders

## A. Address by Dr. Owen Newlin, President, Iowa Board of Regents

Owen Newlin, President, Iowa Board of Regents, talked about the following key points:

- Congratulated the President and the faculty for doing a good job.
- Recognized outstanding faculty.
- The budget and the university's financial picture.
- Students being able to afford tuition.
- The university helping to rebuilding Iowa's economy.

# B. Memorial Resolutions of Deceased Faculty [S02-30]

The Faculty Senate observed a minute of silence in remembrance of the following deceased faculty:

Charles A. Black
Joseph Brown
Vasilios Petros "Bill" Evangelou
Alice Farnham Lillie
John Peter Mahlstede
James D. McMechan
Julian C. Schilletter
J.T. Scott
Harold "Smitty" Smith
Ross B. Talbot

# C. Spring 2003 Graduation List

#### **APPROVED**

#### **III.** Consent Items

# Motion to pass the following consent items was approved:

- A. Agenda for May 6, 2003 [S02/A/10]
- B. Minutes for Faculty Senate Executive Committee, April 1, 2003
- C. Minutes for Faculty Senate Meeting on April 8, 2003 [S02/M/9]
- D. Annual Council/Committee Reports
- E. Calendar [S02/C/10]
- G. Report on Grievance Appeals, 2002-2003

### **APPROVED**

## IV. Announcements and Remarks

## A. President's Annual Report

President Wortman restated the four principles on which he ran as Faculty Senate president: academic freedom, collegiality, freedom of speech for and by all faculty, and unity of the faculty. He gave examples of how he has accomplished these principles during his term.

## B. Provost

Provost Allen gave a report on the 2003 promotion and tenure results. He also gave a report on the instruction done in 2002-2003 by tenured faculty, nontenured faculty, and graduate students.

#### V. Old Business

# A. Ombuds Person Report [S02-43]

Clark Ford, Chair of the Judiciary and Appeals Council, presented the Ombuds Person Report.

### **APPROVED**

## B. University Calendar [S02-37]

The Faculty Senate voted on the four options for the university calendar. The vote was: option A=20, option B=29, option C=8, and option D=9.

# VI. Special Orders

## A. Recognition of Retiring Senators

The following senators are retiring from the Faculty Senate and were honored for their service.

Dan Bullen - Mechanical Engineering
John Cunnally - Design At-Large
Carl Mize - Ag At-Large
Ganesh Rajagopalan - Aerospace Engineering
Chuch Thoen - VMPM
Joan Herwig - Human Development and Family Studies
Christie Pope - History
John Robyt - Biochemistry & Biophysics

### **B.** Recognition of Executive Board

President Geoffroy handed out medallions to the Executive Board members.

## C. Recognition of Distinguished Service to the Faculty Senate Award

Ken Kruempel was honored with a plaque for his six years as chair of the Curriculum Committee. Connie Post was also awarded a plaque for her service as Chair of the Faculty Development and Administrative Relations Council and Secretary of the Faculty Senate.

### D. Passing of the Gavel

President Wortman passed the gavel to President-Elect Girton.

President Girton complemented Past-President Wortman and expressed the Senate's thanks for his many efforts over the past year.

# **E.** Seating of New Senators

The following faculty members were seated as new senators:

Joel Geske - Greenlee School
Sidner Larson - LAS At-Large
Ambar Mitra - Aerospace Engineering
Forrest Nutter - Plant Pathology
Gregory Palermo - Architecture
Ricardo Rosenbusch - VMPM
Dan Russell - FCS At-Large
John Sawyer - Ag At-Large
Phil Spike - Ag At-Large
Sriram Sundararajan - Mechanical Engineering
Eileen Thacker - VMPM
John Wong - Management

## VII. New Business

The Faculty Senate received a 2/3's vote to suspend the rules and vote on the new business items this evening.

#### **APPROVED**

# A. M.S. and Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences - [S02-41]

Sanjeev Agarwal, Chair of the Academic Affairs Council, presented the M.S. and Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences.

### **APPROVED**

# B. M.S. and Ph.D. in Human Computer Interaction - [S02-42]

Sanjeev Agarwal, Chair of the Academic Affairs Council, presented the M.S. and Ph.D. in Human Computer Interaction.

#### APPROVED

## X. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 9:30 p.m.