IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE FACULTY SENATE MEETING minutes OCTOBER 20, 2009 – 3:30–5:00 P.M. GREAT HALL, MEMORIAL UNION

Present: Agarwal, S.; Anderson, D.; Anderson, P.; Arndt, G.; Baker, R.; Baldwin, C.; Beattie, G.; Beetham, J.; Beresnev, I.; Blevins, J.; Butler, A.; Byars, J.; Chaudhuri, S.; Clough, M.; Cooper, E.; Dell, B.; Ford, C.; Freeman, S.; Hargrove, M.; Haynes, J.; Herrmann, P.; Hochstetler, A.; Jackman, J.; Keren, N.; Korsching, P.; Kushkowski, J.; Loy, D; Maitra, R.; Martin, M.; Martin, R.; Matzavinos, T.; Mayfield, J.; Minion, C.; Muench, J.; Napolitano, R.; Osweiler, G.; Owen, M.; Owusu, F.; Palermo, G.; Pleasants, J.; Porter, M.; Porter, S.; Ruben, R.; Rule, L.; Sapp, T.; Schalinske, K.; Selby, M.; Stalder, K.; Sturm, J.; Torrie, M.; Tuckness, A.; Vander Lugt, K.; van der Valk, A.; VanderZanden, A. M.; Wallace, R.; Walter, S.; Wang, Z.J.; Windus, T.

Absent: Beell, T.; Bracha, V; Daniels, T.; Day, T.; Geske, J.; Hendrich, S.; Hillier, A.; Huffman, W.; Katz, A.; Luecke, G.; Manu, A.; McQueeney, R.; Prieto, L.; Smiley-Oyen, A.; Strohbehn, C.; van Leeuwen, H.

Substitutes: J. Kurtenbach for Doran, M.; C. Post for Niday, D.

Guests: Carlson, S. (Provost Office); Hoffman, E. (Provost); Holger, D. (Provost Office); Kane, K. (P&S Council); Lamkey, K. (Agronomy); Peiffer, G. (GPSS); Psey, J. (Ames Trib); Rosacker, E. (University Relations); Schnable, P. (Agronomy).

I Call to Order

A Seating of Substitute Senators

II Consent Agenda

A Minutes of Faculty Senate, September 8, 2009 - [S09/M/1]

B Agenda for October 20, 2009 – [S09/A/2]

C Calendar – [S09/C/2]

Wallace moved and Mayfield seconded to accept consent agenda; motion carried.

III Announcements and Remarks

A Faculty Senate President

Van der Valk noted that Faculty Senate blog (web log) is up and running; address is blog.facsen.iastate.edu. Three pages on the blog currently enabling comments: 1. post-tenure review, 2. budget cuts, and 3. NTE faculty percentages. Noted that blog is moderated, so posted comments do not appear immediately. Noted that during this meeting, the Senate will go into a "committee of the whole", during which no resolutions or motions may be made nor voted upon, and during which minutes will not be recorded, as per parliamentary protocol.

B Faculty Senate President-Elect

Owen noted that the Representation Committee is currently working on spring conference planning. Noted that the same committee has managed to fill most Senate council and committee vacancies. Noted that the post-tenure review task force has met to begin its work. Members include Arnold van

der Valk, Mira Engler, Mark Hargrove, Paula Morrow, Max Porter, Michael Whiteford, and Susan Carlson.

C Provost

Hoffman noted three upcoming items of concern: 1. scrutiny of compliance on effort reporting for grants, to ensure keeping in line with NSF rules; 2. reporting of potential conflict of interest/conflict of commitment, when ISU faculty or staff hold paid positions outside of ISU; and 3. Reporting on work for associations (such as trade associations); noted that there may be more stringent reporting requirements coming along for time accounting.

IV Special Order:

Executive Vice President and Provost Elizabeth Hoffman, Annual Report on NTE Faculty Hoffman noted that the Faculty Handbook sets forth guidelines of 15% maximum NTE faculty for the institution and 25% maximum NTE faculty for any department; in reality the overall percentage for ISU is about 25%. This percentage has not been rising in recent years, but neither has it decreased. Noted that 32 departments have percentages below the institutional average of 25%; 23 departments exceed 25%; 9 departments below 10%, and only one department (Music, at 53%), exceeds 50%. Noted that for some units there are good reasons to employ NTE faculty, but that this is not true in all cases. Noted that some NTE hires are spousal accommodations. In summary, noted that if teaching performance for an NTE faculty member is ever an issue, that it is dealt with forthrightly. Noted that we get extraordinary teaching performance from many NTE faculty members. Noted that seven years of data on NTE indicates little variance year-to-year, and that compared with peer institutions ISU is "somewhat dependent" on NTE faculty. Noted that the new resource management model may effect changes in NTE hiring. Van der Valk, in a follow-up comment, invited Senators to comment on the Senate blog.

V Committee of the Whole to Discuss Budget Cuts (Chaired by President Elect Mike Owen)
Panelists: Executive Vice President and Provost Elizabeth Hoffman
Gregory Palermo, Chair, RPA Council
Arnold van der Valk, Faculty Senate Representative on UBAC

Owen moved and Palermo seconded for the Senate to go into a committee of the whole and to automatically come out of committee of the whole at 4:55pm. Motion carried. As per parliamentary protocol, minutes not recorded during this segment of the Senate meeting. Owen declared the Senate back to regular session at 4:57pm.

VI Old Business

None

VII New Business

None

VIII Good of the Order

Owen asked that everyone look hard to find money.

IX Adjournment

Wallace moved and Walter seconded for adjournment at 4:58pm.

Minutes assiduously recorded, painstakingly typed and respectfully submitted by Michael David Martin, duly elected Recording Secretary of the Iowa State University Faculty Senate, upon this seventeenth day of November in the year two thousand and nine *Anno Domini*.

NEXT MEETING TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 17, 2009 -- 3:30-5:00 P.M. GREAT HALL, MU